Understanding English People

One of the things that’s become quickly apparent to me as I’ve started this blog, and been exposed to more of the culture surrounding the Premier League and English football in general,  is that English people don’t speak English. They speak Something Else That Has English In It.

Growing up, I’d had relatively little exposure to the colloquialisms of English speech. My experience with English culture consisted largely of the following:

  • exported BBC programming on Masterpiece Theatre
  • various WWII movies with British forces, e.g. The Longest Day
  • Monty Python
  • To Sir, With Love
  • Mary Poppins & Oliver!
  • Doctor in the House
  • Benny Hill
  • The Two Ronnies

and, more recently,

  • Sexy Beast
  • Snatch

I mean, here we are, supposedly speaking the same language, but there are all these words to which I had never been exposed and for which I have no Real English equivalent.

 Luckily, I found this handy reference guide:

The English-to-American Dictionary

In addition to being a useful, go-to reference, it makes interesting leisure reading. Well done, old boy! Cor blimey! Stone the Crows!

As you can see I have a ways to go yet to get current.

 

4 responses to “Understanding English People

  1. Moving to the US, I can certainly get the point.

    Whereas there is a major dialect component to English speakers, Americans just don’t get sentence structure or grammar. Snatch, is cockney but American is not English, its a bastardization…

    Made up word?

  2. keep watching the footie and we’ll have you talking reet
    fpb

  3. I have this theory how American English is the most international, modern, and truest form of English, whereas British English is frequently archaic and clumsy.

    I have stopped bringing up this theory at the pub. It’s just not worth it.

  4. Yeah, I can see why that might not fly in a pub.

Leave a Reply

